Sidecar - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old Sep 3rd, 2013, 1:09 pm Thread Starter

Sidecar

Hello, my name is Bear Campbell. I've been riding a Ural rig for several years but I wanted something with more power and comfort for long trips. I found and purchased a used Astro Sport (late 90's model) and would like to mount it on a 2005 LT. I've been having a little trouble getting information from Hannigan and was wondering if anyone had some pictures of a Hannigan mounted to an LT so I can see how and where it mounts.
Also, can anyone tell me how much trouble it is to do maintenance on the LT with the car mounted? I know the maintenance cost on a BMW isn't cheap, so I'm checking my options.
Thanks, your help is greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old Sep 3rd, 2013, 6:44 pm
Lifetime Supporter

Re: Sidecar

Hi, welcome aboard Bear. Those Ural's are nice, but I don't don't know about a long trip on one. We had a /2 with an R100 motor & a Velorix sidecar 25 years ago. We did a few out of state trips on it, but it was about all that rig could do.

We now have an Astro 2+2 on our 2002 K1200LT. I don't have any pictures of Hannigans mounts on the K1200LT. But, I have done maintenance on our rig both with the sidecar on & off. In the end it is faster to take the sidecar off, then do maintenance, then put it back on. I change the brake fluid every year, & doing it with the sidecar on is a pain.

I hope this is of some help. Patric

Patric Blackman
2002 K1200LT/Hannigan2+2
2010 R1200GSA ...1987 Helix...
AMA Charter Lifemember
37 Year Member of both BMWMOA & BMWRA

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 6 Old Sep 3rd, 2013, 10:03 pm Thread Starter