Am I crazy - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 35 Old Nov 27th, 2007, 11:00 am Thread Starter

Am I crazy

Well it looks like I am finally going to get my second motorcycle. The first was a Honda 125 or something like that over 25 year ago. I have not ridden since.

Am I crazy to get a K1200LT as my first motorcycle in over 25 years. I have no riding experience in that time. I will be taking a riding class and my wife and I do not plan any major trips until late March.

I read about how heavy it is and I will never be able to pick it pick by myself if it goes over.

I simply love the bike. It has everything I think I could ever want. Some honest feedback would be welcome. If you think this is a bad idea, would you please recommend other BMW options.

Thanks,

Louis
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 35 Old Nov 27th, 2007, 11:53 am
Super Moderator

Going from nothing to an LT has been done, but it is challenging. The LT is a large beast and would not be my first choice for a starter machine. You definitely need to take the MSF course and get some training under your belt before you pull the trigger on any bike purchase, regardless of model. Once that's done I would recommend something smaller to get up to speed on as a learning tool. A Suzuki SV 650 or GS500 would be good optiosn since they are plentiful in the used market and can be picked up at a low cost and sold for a decent return. ONce you get your "bike legs" on something a little less challenging (2-6 months, maybe) then move up to the LT. I think you will find this a much more pleasurable path in getting to the LT and truly enjoying it as your main steed.

And +1 on what Dave Dragon said - ATGATT!!

David Taylor
San Jose, CA
2010 R1200RT Polar Metallic
AMA, BMWMOA
Booze Brother #4

The shortest distance between two points is for people who don't ride!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.