anxious abought the weight and size - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 Old Aug 21st, 2006, 6:36 pm Thread Starter

anxious abought the weight and size

Ok, Iím new here and not sure if this is the forum or the k1200 lt. Maybe both. Here is my concern. I started riding oh around 5 years ago on a Honda cx 500. Liked the fact that they were different than anything else. Moved up to a Honda spirit 750 2003 and loved the low center of gravity and easy way it rides, put over 12,000 miles on it the first year. This was my divorce therapy machine, and it was great for that, somehow riding a bike takes enough concentration that the days problems just melt away.

Fast forward to today, I am with a lovely lady that wants to ride with me. I have not ridden for a couple years, had to sell the spirit due to one of lifeís curves. I love the LT, thought about the rt as it actually has a bit more carrying capacity according to specs but the LT just looks like the ultimate two up machine. Like many here I just do not care for the Goldwin looks, especially the pre-1800 models that I could afford. I have not found an LT I didn't love in the 1200 models.

Ok, long intro, sorry, question, 500 and some odd pond cruiser, LT over 800 pounds and reportedly a bit top heavy in parking lots. Add to that 500 lbs. of rider and gear, ok maybe a bit more, and Iím more than a bit intimidated. What do you think? Suggestions and comments appreciated. Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old Aug 21st, 2006, 6:46 pm

Smile Try it

I was concered about the size of the bike also. This site almost scared me off. Best thing to do is go to a dealer and test ride it! It is top heavy but with the proper respect she'll treat you right. Try it on for size.

Just Go
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mike
Cleveland Ohio
2019 K1600b Grand America, Blue Max.