Charging Via The Rear Jack? - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old May 2nd, 2006, 2:51 pm Thread Starter

Charging Via The Rear Jack?

Sorry if this question has been asked before - I'm new here.

Over the last few years I have routinely plugged my Battery Teder Plus into the rear power accessory jack of my 2002 K1200LT-C using a cable I built with the BMW connector.

This past weekend, my local dealer told me that the rear jack should not be used for this as it does not pass power back to the battery - I'm guessing he's suggesting there's a diode on there somewhere. He said that the charger should only be connected to the front jack.

Using the rear jack has always seemed to work just fine.

He also said that the Battery Tender Plus was not the best choice as the battery on my bike is 13.8V and the BTP is only putting out 12V. Again, I've been using this charger for 3 years and have never had any issues. I'm just curious.

Can anyone confirm or deny this information?

Thanks,
Matt
2002 K1200LT-C
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old May 2nd, 2006, 2:58 pm

So if it's been working why give credit to the dealer knowing more than you ?

The rear jack while maybe not a dirrect connect to battery and not able to run high current, will tackle low current trickle charge duty just fine.

IMHO.
Scott

"00" Canyon Red LTI ~ Well Farklized ~ Bug Splattered
Our "semi" quiet riot
*** Trailer Too ***

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
T
wisties Required

post #3 of 5 Old May 2nd, 2006, 3:20 pm