Voltmeter? - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old Jul 9th, 2009, 3:01 pm Thread Starter

Question Voltmeter?

I had a gas pump malfunction the other day while gassing up and accidentally splashed gas on my i4C voltmeter, which I've been using for about nine years. The day after the spash, I noticed my meter registering 1-2 volts low. Fearing a weakened battery (within a week of my ride to the BMWMOA International in Johnson City), I replaced my 5-year-old Odyssey battery. Same result....an indicated low voltage of 10.9 - 11.3 volts...even though the bike fires up just fine.

I'm thinking the gas corroded something or even penetrated the i4C housing, giving me false readings now on the meter.

i4C seems to be out of business. I really liked the fact that the meter drew so little current that I could hook it up directly to the battery and have is on all the time. It gave me a "resting" voltage reading that gave me a heads up before I switched on the ignition.

Anyone know of a worthy replacement for the c-volt meter that would accurately show a resting voltage?

Thanks!

Paul Rakestraw
Boulder, CO

09 R1200RT
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

01 K1200LTI
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wrecked at 91k miles

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old Jul 9th, 2009, 4:53 pm

Re: Voltmeter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pdrstraw