Copied from USA page - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old Dec 30th, 2012, 7:21 am Thread Starter

Copied from USA page

Hi Guys, and Gals
I have just purchased a 2007model K1200LT, all grey.
I live in Perth ( W. Australia) and the bike is in Melbourne (Eastern Australia)
On New Years Day, I will take a flight to Melbourne, and then I have the "unfortunate" duty to ride the LT back to Perth
It will be about 3,600 kilometre trip in 4 days, beginning on the Great Ocean Road, Victoria.
(Google map it !) That is some seriously good motorcycling road.

I have been riding a 1995 K1100LT for the past 8 years, and I rode a1975 R60/6 for 30 years before that.

I am sure I will enjoy the trip across Australia, although the temperature can get up to the high 40's- mid 50's (Centigrade) coming through the Desert in South Australia
That's about 120 to 130 degrees Fahrenheit

I will try to get some pictures, and post them on this site, when I return

Happy New Year
'Lefty'
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old Dec 30th, 2012, 4:46 pm
cws

Garage
Re: Copied from USA page

As you mentioned in the other thread you've got the knowledge and experience, it'll be an easy trip barring excessive heat on the way.
If its got the full CD stacker still installed, make sure you take some CD's with you... you'll want something to stop you falling asleep once you've gotten past GOR!
If you plan to stop around Portland, VIC, you could do worse than try to catch up with Axle (Lincoln Cram) from the forum who's also an LT rider for a quiet drink.

Safe ride!

cheers

Chris
Sydney, NSW
2005 Dark Graphite Metallic K1200LT
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2005 Orient Blue Metallic K1200GT SE
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(sold 2019)
2000 Red Honda CB250 (the toy)

Ulysses #45310
GS911