New to this forum since purchase of K12 - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old May 26th, 2011, 2:31 am Thread Starter

New to this forum since purchase of K12

Hi all, just thought I'd better do the right thing and intoduce myself. Located in Tassie and ride all year round, no problem with a faired bike. Previously I had a 1988 K100RT which was in need of semi-restoration. Got it all up to scratch and have now toured 5 times in Vic, NSW and ACT, always 2 up with my wife.
Upgraded 3 weeks ago to a 2005 K1200LTE, mainly for the comfort really, but an awesome bike in my opinion. Purchased it from Noosaville and rode to Melbourne in 2 days, easy !! Testament to the comfort and ability to chew up the K's.
Fitter & Machinist by Trade, post graduate diploma in Maintenance Management and working as a reliability engineer. I have an interest in all things mechanical, like to do all my own maintenance (wrenchin' as the Americans say). I've written a bit of tech stuff for the K100 forum of the last few years, hope to continue with that as well. The 1988 K100RT is for sale should anyone be interested or know of someone looking for a good clean example which is reliable and ready to tour. PM me for full details. Best regards and ride safe, Dennis Brown
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old May 26th, 2011, 3:12 am

Garage
Re: New to this forum since purchase of K12

welcome Dennis
we are a small little group here in OZ I met Chris (cws) from Sydney the other week and had dinner with them, it was great to put a face to the name hopefully well meet up one day for a beer or two, glad to hear you are mechanically clued up cause this bike will keep you broke if your not , . I do all my own servicing best thing I bought was a little electric screwdriver, there are a lot of screws I can strip her completely in about 20 minutes these days. and just a tip the air filter is "under the bloody fuel tank" good thinking on their part