R1200RT purchase advice - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 59 Old Aug 24th, 2012, 3:31 am Thread Starter

Thumbs up R1200RT purchase advice

Gents,

I'm new to Beamers & am seriously considering the purchase of a new (2012 or 2013) R1200RT. I've also considered the K1600 GT. The pricing, fun factor, lightness, & nimbleness are all attractive traits of the 1200. However, a local dealer rep all but talked crap on the 1200 citing the maintenance costs were HIGH, and that 1600 was a far superior bike.

I wondered what your thoughts were on the 1200's reliability, maintenance costs etc? Also, I keep hearing that the 1200 is going to be a water-boxer, which seems like a good progression although many are saying "stay away" from a 2013 water cooled RT.

Addmitingly, im a bit of a fair weather rider and will not likly put a million miles a year on the bike. I come from a moto background and have ridden EVERY style of bike. Even the, dare I say it here (HD) which i may also still consider. A Kawasaki Concours is also still in play. Any input any of you have would be greatly appreciated, and please, do not hold the HD thing against mem
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 59 Old Aug 24th, 2012, 3:56 am

Re: R1200RT purchase advice

I can't really say which cost more to maintain since I know little about the K1600. But you can always do a lot of the simple maintenance yourself and save a lot of money. The cost of oil and filters is not that bad. Having said that I would think that it is much easier to work on the boxer engine than the new 6 cylinder engine.