PDA

View Full Version : Something smells all wrong here?


barryst1100
Aug 7th, 2006, 3:08 am
Check this bike sales ad out. Looks like a scam to me? But I've emailed the seller to find out more. Looks like an american bike to me.

http://www.bikesales.com.au/as/search/sd.do?recIndex=1&makeID=9&modelID=123&page=0&y=18&selectedModelIndex=14&selectedMakeIndex=7&previousResultPerPage=20&currentPage=1&x=62

Cheers

Barry

Daza
Aug 7th, 2006, 4:40 am
Mate.....

Tread carefully, it's the bargain of the century in Aus, if it exists. If it does and you want me to check it out let me know. I'm not far from Rockdale most days.

barryst1100
Aug 7th, 2006, 7:18 am
Hi Daza

No phone number or even a mobile number?
Big scam me thinks?
And those pics. Thats somewhere in the states for sure. MPH speedo and all.

Daza
Aug 7th, 2006, 7:41 am
And those pics. Thats somewhere in the states for sure. MPH speedo and all.

Just went back and had another look at those photos, they sure weren't taken around here, not Australian style housing at all. Gotta be a SCAM

big dog
Aug 7th, 2006, 10:22 pm
Check out the speedo, she's in MPH not metric. Agree with Dazza too, house does not look Aussie style.

Ride safe all

cws
Aug 8th, 2006, 5:26 am
yup.
If it only does 140 its not much good around here.... :p

BrianD
Aug 8th, 2006, 1:05 pm
Put the engine number into the RealOEM parts website and it comes up as a USA 07/2003 model. I think most Australian ones show up as European.
If it is in Sydney, could be someone who moved over here and brought it with them??

dave4462
Aug 20th, 2006, 8:14 am
I am looking for a new ride at the moment and messaged the guy and asked what the real price was. He said the bike is "in the states" and is Oz complianced and just wants to get rid of it because he cant sell it in the USA. Smells to much to me!! but wouldnt give any real contact apart from Email. Vic roads dont have a listing any where in OZ for the given vin or rego